IVA Preparation

My first IVA application got lost in the post and delayed things by 3 weeks, but everything is ready and the IVA test is booked… for Friday!

When I got a confirmation email through, I was asked to phone and book a date. The closest free slot at Kidderminster (closest station) was the end of August, so I asked if there were any alternatives and Derby had free slots Friday and Wednesday / tomorrow (but I need to be in work).

This is therefore a quick update of everything before the IVA.

Dashboard tidied up and holes made for the switches

DSC_1508  DSC_1510

Wiring tidied up and clipped down

DSC_1512

Setting the geometry up (this is much more difficult in a single garage compared to how it was in Formula Student!

DSC_1517

Brake fluid identification sticker added:

DSC_1521

The steering column has a bit of wobble in it due to the bushing fit on the column. I therefore bought a roller bearing and have fitted this. The wobble has completely gone and the steering is even more free.

DSC_1522   DSC_1524

I have also bought a second sump from Ebay to get it cut down, to improve the ride height (sump is currently the lowest part and scrapes on the join between my garage and driveway). I had planned to do this after the IVA but due to various delays, this seemed like a good time. I will fit the modified sump after the IVA.

DSC_1525  DSC_1527 DSC_1536

Due to the way I have wired the fog and hazard switches in, I had to redo them and pass the wiring through the dashboard.

DSC_1550  DSC_1558

Checked and tidied the rear end, including wiring and thread engagement, before putting the boot cover on.

DSC_1560  DSC_1563DSC_1564  DSC_1566DSC_1568

After this, it has been a case of checking everything over, covering sharp edges and nuts, putting split pins in place and testing the car up and down the driveway.

DSC_0028

DSC_0023

DSC_0097

Everything on the car is now ready for Friday, I just need to pack tools, spares and the paperwork.

Leave a comment