Assembly Starts

The day after the Westfield kit arrived at my house, my Dad collected it along with the engine and transported it to their house in Norfolk which is where the build would start. I had booked a few days off work (which I kept having to change) and would spend these starting the build.

DSC_0818

On 22nd October I drove over to Norfolk via Bailey Morris in St Neots who would shorten my prop shaft.

The first job after arriving and unpacking was to get on with the panelling. The process for this is to clamp the panel in place, drill through the holes into the chassis, de-burr the holes, remove the protection on the panels and then rivet in place.

After a few minutes of trying to find the floor panels in the instruction (that were already welded in), I got on with the first panels round the tunnel. The process was initially very slow using a cordless drill which struggled for power and would take at least a minute for each hole. A change to a mains powered drill and with a sharp drill bit, each hole took about 10 seconds, which got longer as each drill bit became blunt. The air powered riveter I bought was brilliant and saved a massive amount of time, definitely worth the money!

DSC_0821 DSC_0822

By the end of the day, I had the majority of panels in place as shown in the blurry and dark photo below.

DSC_0824

The second day started with more panelling but seemed to go quicker now I had the hang of it. The chassis was turned onto it’s side to do the front floor panels.

DSC_0825 DSC_0830

I put the pedals in before the chassis was turned onto it’s side. This didn’t take long and it felt nice to be assembling parts.

DSC_0828

Whilst the chassis was on it’s side, I did some of the brake pipes. The pipes that go into the master cylinder require bends very close to their ends which can’t be done with the pipe bending tool I bought. I therefore left these off while I work out how to do this neatly. The best plan I can find so far is to put wire in the pipe and then bend by hand, the wire should stop the pipe collapsing. I need to get some less blurry photos but this shows the rear pipes where they separate from the T piece.

DSC_0835

Leave a comment