Brake Pipes, Fuel Pipes and Wiring

Progress has been a bit slower recently but I have got a few things done and have been preparing for a few days on the car around Christmas.

The first job was to drill and rivet all the clips for the brake and fuel pipes running under the car. The fuel pipes were relatively easy as the exact end position is less critical (they will mount to rubber hose). The brake pipe was a bit more difficult as I had slightly more pipe than needed at the rear and had to shape it carefully to avoid getting near the diff.

I used an air powered grinder and small drill bit to make pilot holes and then a normal drill to finish the holes. During the procedure, I must have found a hardened part of the chassis near a weld and melted the end of a drill bit…

DSC_0925

Whilst the car is in the air I drained and filled the gearbox oil. It was a bit hard to access the fill hole so used an oil can with a hand pump in it. The only way to see the level was to use my phone and take a photo in the fill hole.

DSC_0932

The next task was to do the rear harness. This involved taking the Mazda harness, removing insulation, cutting off the un-needed parts, cutting down the bits that are needed and then making a couple of additions for number plate light etc. My car was an Eunos so I also had to add a fog light wire.

I ordered my lights and as soon as they arrived, I fitted the headlights which took 2 minutes and looked like progress!

DSC_0958

 

Leave a comment