Fuel & Cooling systems and Exhaust

First job was to sort out the fuel circuit and get everything connected up.

After needing to order more parts and then damaging the threads on the first fuel tank connector, I connected up all the fuel hoses with filter, pump and tank. I still need to get some convoluted tubes and then fix the hoses in place permanently.

DSC_1067DSC_1079

Fuel tank was then fixed in place after re-bending the tank straps to fit over the IVA crash bar.

DSC_1097

Then connecting up the majority of the coolant system including my new expansion tank. I bought a VW header tank, normally used for all VWs up to 2l as it is a simple shape and will be easy to mount at 1/3 the cost that Westfield charge for an expansion tank.

I still need to attach the radiator to the car and then attach the hoses but need to make some brackets first.

DSC_1072

 

DSC_1073

DSC_1098

Next job was the scariest so far, drilling a hole in the main part of the body work for the exhaust to pass through. I went for a slightly larger hole cutter to give me a bit of tolerance but it lines up fairly well (link pipe is loose fitted below).

DSC_1081

I also had to drill a hole in the exhaust link pipe for mounting the lambda sensor. I bought a small threaded insert that fits nicely into the 22mm hole I have drilled below.

DSC_1085

Next was the fuel filler flap and hose. The first step was to locate and drill another large hole in the main part of the body, luckily this went OK again.

DSC_1083

Then drill the 6 mounting holes for the fuel flap.

DSC_1087

For IVA, the fuel filler flap has to be tethered to the car, as shown below, done with some picture hanging wire and a crimp connector on the back of the cap.

DSC_1088DSC_1090DSC_1089

 

I need to recheck everything is tight but that is the fuel system complete and I even went out and bought 5l of petrol ready to fill.

The electric and fuel systems are now complete (electrics will need modifying for my new speedo when it arrives), the exhaust is sufficiently complete to (loudly) test start the engine before adding the silencer. The remaining jobs before I can attempt to start are to make radiator brackets, attach a ground wire to the fuel tank, check everything is tight, fill coolant and fill with petrol.

I have designed some radiator brackets which are being cut from GRP so in the meantime, I got on and properly mounted the driver’s seat with harness approximately adjusted. The 4 lower belts need the seat out to get enough room to adjust them.

DSC_1093

 

Leave a comment